UN FAO Innovation Award 2024

UN FAO Innovation Award 2024

UN FAO Innovation Award 2024

Application for the UN FAO Innovation Award 2024 is ongoing. This prestigious award celebrates groundbreaking innovations in agriculture and food systems. From addressing old challenges in new ways to introducing fresh solutions to emerging issues, this award recognizes those who are driving positive change in the sector. Stay tuned to discover the innovative minds shaping the future of food security, economic development, and sustainable resource management.

Innovation means doing something fresh and different, like finding a new way to solve an old problem, tackling a new problem with a proven solution, or introducing a new idea to fix a new issue. The program rewards innovators with a scroll highlighting their achievements and a cash prize of $10,000. Agricultural innovation involves individuals or groups bringing new products, processes, or ways of organizing into play for the first time in a specific situation. This helps boost effectiveness, competitiveness, resilience to shocks, or environmental sustainability. Ultimately, it contributes to food security, economic growth, and sustainable management of natural resources.

The UN FAO Innovation Award 2024 marks the latest chapter in a storied history of recognizing and celebrating innovative contributions to agriculture and food systems. Established by the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO), this award builds upon the organization’s longstanding commitment to promoting innovation as a driver of positive change in the agricultural sector. Over the years, the UN FAO has consistently championed innovative approaches to address the complex challenges facing food security, nutrition, and sustainable development. Through initiatives, programs, and partnerships, the FAO has worked tirelessly to foster creativity, collaboration, and ingenuity among stakeholders worldwide.

SEE ALSO: Wema Bank Plc Bankers-In-Training Program 2024

Award Summary:

Award Sponsor(s): Food and Agricultural Organisation (FAO)

Award Worth: $10,000

Number of Awards: Several

Study Level: Young Students

Nationality: International and Domestic

Requirements and eligibility criteria for UN FAO Innovation Award 2024:

  • Recognizes groundbreaking innovations within FAO’s mandate.
  • Includes a wide range of potential recipients: Members, institutions, individuals, international/regional organizations, academic or research entities, civil society organizations, and private sector entities.
  • Acknowledges innovations in various areas, such as agri-food systems, digital agriculture, agri-food innovation systems, biotechnology advancements, sustainable production practices (e.g., Agroecology), and new business models.
  • Covers different types of innovations, including technological, institutional, social, policy, and financial innovations.


  • A prestigious scroll highlighting their achievements and/or the significance of the award.
  • A cash prize of USD 10,000.
  • Recognition for innovations impacting multiple levels of the supply chain, from agricultural producers (e.g., farmers, herders, fishers) to consumers.
  • Efforts to strengthen the connection between agricultural producers and consumers through innovative mechanisms. This includes innovative institutional arrangements, policy and financial mechanisms, social processes, technological solutions (including digital tools and platforms), and access to markets and consumers, all while considering environmental, economic, and social sustainability.

The general criteria for the award selection include:

  • Quality and merit of the innovation.
  • Potential benefits, impact, and sustainability of the innovation.
  • Accessibility and affordability of the innovation.
  • Scalability of the innovation.
  • Value for money.
  • Emphasis on the role of youth (under 35), women, and marginalized groups in the innovation process.

SEE ALSO: UNICEF Leading Minds Fellowship on Climate 2024

Application Procedure for UN FAO Innovation Award 2024 (How to apply);

To apply for the UN FAO Innovation Award 2024, interested applicants can submit their nominations either electronically using the provided form or via email to FAO-awards@fao.org. The nomination should include detailed information and concrete examples demonstrating the innovative contributions of the individual or organization.

Application Deadline: March 1, 2024

For more information about this opportunity, Visit the Official Webpage.

Leave a Reply