ICJ Judicial Fellowship 2024 Programme For International Students

ICJ Judicial Fellowship 2024

ICJ Judicial Fellowship 2024 Programme For International Students

Applications are invited from suitably qualified applicants for the 2024/2025 ICJ Judicial Fellowship for students across the globe. This program is open to Law Graduates.

This fellowship program is an opportunity offered to qualified law graduates from all nationalities. This program is sponsored by International Court of Justice (ICJ) and is to be taken at The Hague, The Netherlands. This program aims to improve participants’ understanding of public international law in practice and the Court’s procedures by directly involving them in the activities of the Court. Judicial Fellows work on a full-time basis under the supervision of a Member of the Court, alongside the Member’s primary legal assistant. Fellows can expect to conduct research and draft memorandums on questions of law or fact relating to cases pending before the Court, attend hearings and sittings, and perform any other duties that may be assigned to them by their respective judges.

The International Court of Justice (ICJ), also called the World Court, is one of the six principal organs of the United Nations (UN). It settles disputes between states in accordance with international law and gives advisory opinions on international legal issues. The ICJ is the only international court that adjudicates general disputes between countries, with its rulings and opinions serving as primary sources of international law (subject to Article 59 of the Statute of the International Court of Justice). The ICJ is the successor of the Permanent Court of International Justice (PCIJ), which was established in 1920 by the League of Nations. After the Second World War, the League and the PCIJ were replaced by the United Nations and ICJ, respectively. The Statute of the ICJ, which sets forth its purpose and structure, draws heavily from that of its predecessor, whose decisions remain valid. All member states of the UN are party to the ICJ Statute and may initiate contentious cases; however, advisory proceedings may only be submitted by certain UN organs and agencies. The ICJ consists of a panel of 15 judges elected by the UN General Assembly and Security Council for nine-year terms. No more than one judge of each nationality may be represented on court at the same time, and judges collectively must reflect the principal civilizations and legal systems of the world. Seated in the Peace Palace in The Hague, Netherlands, the ICJ is the only principal UN organ not located in New York City. Its official working languages are English and French.

SEE ALSO: Government of France MOPGA Visiting Fellowship 2024

Fellowship Summary:

Fellowship Sponsor(s): International Court of Justice (ICJ)

Fellowship to be taken at: The Hague, The Netherlands

Fellowship Worth: Not specified

Number of Awards: 15

Study Level: Law Graduates

Nationality: All Nationalities

Requirement and Eligibility Criteria for ICJ Judicial Fellowship 2024:

  • Candidates should be 31 years old or younger at the start of their fellowship. This requirement may be waived only in special circumstances.
  • Candidates must demonstrate excellent results in their legal studies, and an interest in public international law through their studies, publications and/or work experience.
  • Candidates must have an excellent command, both written and orally, of at least one of the two official languages of the Court (English and French); a working knowledge of the other language is considered an asset.

Only universities can nominate candidates. The Court does not accept applications from individuals. While it is possible to nominate a single candidate, the Court encourages universities to propose more than one nominee.


Each nominating university must agree to fund the stipend, health insurance and travel costs of its candidate, if selected. Although the Court does not stipulate the amount of the stipend to be paid, it should be sufficient to provide for a minimum standard of accommodation and subsistence in The Hague and should ensure that the selected candidate can benefit fully from his or her experience at the Court without the burden of financial hardship. The fellowship is not a self-funded internship, and candidates without adequate financial support from their nominating university will not be eligible. The Court will facilitate visas, if necessary, and provide working facilities, but it cannot offer financial support.

SEE ALSO: UNSW Global University Award 2024

Application Procedures for the 2024/2025 ICJ Judicial Fellowship (how to apply):

An online pre-screening questionnaire must be completed by the nominating university. The university must also designate an authorized focal point through whom all application materials will be submitted.

Following completion of the pre-screening questionnaire, the following six documents must be submitted for each candidate via the email address of the university’s authorized focal point, in the order below:

Further application instructions, as well as the ICJ personal history form and candidate profile summary table, will be included in the confirmation email sent to the authorized focal point upon completion of the pre-screening questionnaire.

Application Deadline: February 5, 2024.

For more information about this opportunity, Visit the Official Webpage.

Leave a Reply