Julius Nyerere Masters Scholarship Programs 2023 at University Of Edinburgh

Julius Nyerere Masters Scholarship Programs 2023 at University Of Edinburgh

Julius Nyerere Masters Scholarship Programs 2023 at University Of Edinburgh

The University of Edinburgh is pleased to offer Julius Nyerere Masters Scholarship Programs to those who wish to enroll for Postgraduate study at the University for 2023/2024 academic session in the UK.

This scholarship program is partially funded and offers a tuition fee and an annual stipend of £13,500 to qualified international Postgraduate candidates for educational expenses. This program is hosted and sponsored by the University of Edinburgh, UK. The Julius Nyerere Scholarship was set up in 2009 in memory of Mwalimu Julius Nyerere who led Tanganyika to independence in 1961 and became the first prime minister and later president of Tanzania. Nyerere received a scholarship in 1949 to attend the University of Edinburgh where he obtained a Masters of Arts degree that saw him study courses in English, Political Economy, Social Anthropology, British History, Economic History, Constitutional Law, and Moral Philosophy.

The University of Edinburgh is a public research university based in Edinburgh, Scotland. Founded by the town council under the authority of a royal charter of King James VI in 1582 and officially opened in 1583, it is one of Scotland’s four ancient universities and the sixth-oldest university in continuous operation in the English-speaking world. The university played an important role in Edinburgh becoming a chief intellectual center during the Scottish Enlightenment and contributed to the city being nicknamed the “Athens of the North.” Edinburgh is ranked among the top universities in the United Kingdom and the world. Edinburgh is a member of several associations of research-intensive universities, including the Coimbra Group, League of European Research Universities, Russell Group, Una Europa, and Universitas 21.

SEE ALSO: Master’s Degree in Human Rights and Democratisation 2023 at University of Pretoria

The scholarship will cover Tuition Fees and an annual stipend of £13,500.

The annual stipend will be paid in quarterly installments following full matriculation. Payments are made in September and December 2023, and March and June 2024.

Awards are made for one year only.

The award cannot be held alongside any other scholarship funding.

Scholarship Summary:

Scholarship Sponsor(s): University of Edinburgh, UK

Host Institution(s): University of Edinburgh, UK

Scholarship worth: Tuition Fee and an Annual Stipend of £13,500

Study Level: Postgraduate

Nationality: International Students

Requirement and Eligibility Criteria for Julius Nyerere Masters Scholarship Programs 2023:

  • Julius Nyerere Masters Scholarship will be awarded on the basis of academic excellence. Candidates must have, or expect to obtain, the equivalent of a UK first class or 2.1 Honors degree at undergraduate level in a Humanities or Social Science subject.
  • Candidates must submit a Personal Statement for the scholarship application which should clearly state why you are applying for this scholarship, along with your experience and aspirations in the field of Africa and International Development.
  • Candidates must also arrange for two referees to submit reference letters supporting their application.
  • Please note: The Nyerere Scholarship cannot be held alongside any other scholarship funding.

The CAS Selection Panel will meet in June to review the scholarship applications. All scholarship applicants will be contacted with the outcome in June 2023.

SEE ALSO: Japanese Government (MEXT) scholarship program 2023

Application Procedures for the 2023/2024 Julius Nyerere Masters Scholarship Programs (how to apply):

In order to gain access to the scholarship application system, applicants must have applied for admission to the University of Edinburgh. Please note that, following the submission of an application for admission, it can take up to ten working days for all system checks to be completed and for access to be granted.

The online scholarship application form is located in EUCLID and can be accessed via MyEd our web-based information portal at https://www.myed.ed.ac.uk

When logging in to MyEd, you will need your University User Name and password. If you require assistance, please go to http://www.ed.ac.uk/student-systems/support-guidance

  • Eligible applicants will complete an online scholarship application.
  • Information on how to apply will follow shortly

For more information about this opportunity, Visit our Official Website.

Leave a Reply